About Us

Bene sub navigation

Staff & Interns

For media and press inquiries, please contact Sean Carpenter at Sean@friends.org

Alexis Biddle Photo

Alexis Biddle, Great Communities Program Director  

alexis@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x413

he/him/his

Andrew Mulkey, Rural Lands Attorney 

andrew@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x138

he/him/his

Ben Asher Photo

Ben Asher, Office Project Assistant 

ben@friends.org | 503.497.1000

he/him/his

Photo of Brett Morgan

Brett Morgan, Metro Regional Advocacy Manager

brett@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x122

he/him/his

Carolyn Conter

Carolyn Conter, Records and Information Management Intern

carolyn@friends.org

she/her/hers

Chris Killmer on a mountain

Chris Killmer, Legal Intern

He/Him/His

Emily Mercer, Database & Information Manager

emily@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x134

she/her/hers

Greg Holmes, Food Systems Program Director & Southern Oregon Advocate

greg@friends.org | 541.474.1155

he/him/his

Jasmine Zimmer-Stucky, Working Lands Engagement Manager

jasmine@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x131

she/her/hers

Kate Bemesderfer, Director of Membership

Kate Bemesderfer, Director of Development & Communications

kate@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x133

she/her/hers

Kim Regan

Kim Regan, Digital Asset Management Intern

kim@friends.org 

she/her/hers

Lily standing

Lily Burnett, Director of Operations

lily@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x129

she/her/hers

Lou Ocampo, Executive Coordinator

Lou Ocampo, Executive Coordinator

lou@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x137

he/him/his

Mary Kyle McCurdy photo

Mary Kyle McCurdy, Deputy Director

mkm@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x130

she/her/hers

Nicole

Nicole Johnson, Community Engagement Manager

nicole@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x 414

she/her/hers

Russ Hoeflich, Executive Director

Russ Hoeflich, Executive Director

russ@friends.org | 503.720.6656

he/him/his

Photo of Sandy Wright

Sandy Wright, Chief Philanthropy Officer

sandy@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x126 | 503.783.8093

she/her/hers

Sean Carpenter Headshot

Sean Carpenter, Communications & Media Relations Manager

sean@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x135

he/him/his

Zeke (a.k.a. Zeekers), Director of Office Shenanigans

zeke@friends.org | 503.497.1000

Board of Directors

Eloise Grout Koehler | President

Educator | Portland

Christian Richmond Photo

Christian Richmond | Vice President

Star Mooring Farm | Newberg

Andrew Haden | Secretary/Treasurer

Wisewood Energy | Portland

Christine Rontal portrait

Christine Rontal | Chair,  Nominations & Governance Committee

Consultant | Portland | Pronouns: She/They

Issei Saida | Chair, Communications Committee

Craft3 | Portland

MJ Harris, Board Member

Margaret Jane (MJ) Harris | Chair, Fundraising Committee

Farmer | Cornelius

Greg Macpherson, Board Member

Greg Macpherson | Chair, Policy Committee

Conservation Leader | Portland

John Alcott Photo

John Allcott, MD

Applegate Medical Associates | Eugene

Lucy Brehm, Board Member

Lucy Brehm

Lewis & Clark Law School | Portland

Jackie Dingfelder, Board Member

Jackie Dingfelder

Portland State University | Portland

Steve Gutmann

Forth & Stuffstr | Portland

Ken Hayes Photo

Ken Hayes

Farmer & Consultant | Gaston

Jason Lett

The Eyrie Vineyards | McMinnville

Nolan Lienhart, Board Member

Nolan Lienhart

ZGF Architects | Portland

Nellie McAdams in a barn

Nellie McAdams

Oregon Agricultural Trust | Portland

John Paul of Cameron Winery

John Paul

Cameron Winery | Dundee

Carol Whipple

Carol Whipple

Senior Principal at the Rocking C Ranch, LLC | Elkton

Jim Wood Headshot

Jim Wood

Rancher & Veterinarian | Post


We are always looking for passionate people to join our board and our board committees. For more information, or to indicate your interest, please contact Lou Ocampo, lou@friends.org.

Farmer Advisory Committee

Our Farmer Advisory Committee (FAC) is the voice of Oregon's working lands. The FAC assists us in ensuring that Oregon maintains the land needed for future generations of farmers, foresters, and ranchers.