About Us

Staff & Interns

For media and press inquiries, please contact Sean Carpenter at Sean@friends.org

Andrew Mulkey, Rural Lands Attorney 

andrew@friends.org | (971) 420-0916

he/him/his

Ben Asher Photo

Ben Asher, Office Project Assistant 

ben@friends.org | 503.497.1000

he/him/his

Photo of Brett Morgan

Brett Morgan, Transportation and Metro Policy Manager

brett@friends.org | (503) 925-5361

he/him/his

Devin Kesner

Devin Kesner, Associate Attorney

devin@friends.org | (971) 420-0922

she/her/hers

Greg Holmes, Food Systems Program Director & Southern Oregon Advocate

greg@friends.org | (503) 783-8086

he/him/his

Lauren Creany on a rock

Lauren Creany, Development Director

Lauren@friends.org | (503) 694-3560

she/her/hers

Lily standing

Lily Burnett, Operations Director

lily@friends.org | (503) 694-3890

she/her/hers

Lou Ocampo, Executive Coordinator

Lou Ocampo, Operations Manager

lou@friends.org | (971) 420-0915

he/him/his

Mary Kyle McCurdy photo

Mary Kyle McCurdy, Deputy Director

mkm@friends.org | (503) 694-3896

she/her/hers

Sam Diaz headshot

Sam Diaz, Executive Director

sam@friends.org | (503) 694-3892

he/him/his

Will Lerner

Will Lerner, Great Communities Program Research Fellow

will@friends.org

he/him/his

Zeke (a.k.a. Zeekers), Director of Office Shenanigans

zeke@friends.org | 503.497.1000

Board of Directors

Nellie McAdams in a barn

Nellie McAdams | President

Oregon Agricultural Trust | Portland

Issei Saida | Vice President

Craft3 | Portland

Christine headshot

Christine Rontal | Chair, Nominations & Governance Committee

Solid Ground Consulting | Portland | Pronouns: She/They

Gil Kelley

Gil Kelley | Chair, Policy Committee

Urban and Regional Planner | Mt.Hood-Parkdale

Greg Macpherson, Board Member

Greg Macpherson | Secretary/Treasurer

Bannockburn Farms | Albany

MJ Harris, Board Member

Margaret Jane (MJ) Harris | Chair, Fundraising Committee

Farmer | Cornelius

Alee Langford

Alee Langford

Oregon Department of Transportation | Portland

Andrew Haden

Wisewood Energy | Portland

Baker Lyon Headshot

Baker Lyon 

Affordable Housing Developer | Portland

Carol Whipple

Carol Whipple

Senior Principal at the Rocking C Ranch, LLC | Elkton

Christian Richmond Photo

Christian Richmond 

Star Mooring Farm | Newberg

Dallas Defrees

Dallas Hall Defrees

Sustainable Northwest | Baker City

Eloise Grout Koehler

Educator | Portland

Jackie Dingfelder, Board Member

Jackie Dingfelder

Portland State University | Portland

Jeremy Sacks

Jeremy Sacks

Stoel Rives | Portland

Jim Wood Headshot

Jim Wood

Rancher & Veterinarian | Post

John Alcott Photo

John Allcott, MD

Applegate Medical Associates | Eugene

Ken Hayes Photo

Ken Hayes

Farmer & Consultant | Gaston

Libby Wilson

Libby Wilson

Country Natural Beef | North Powder

Victor Platt

Victor Platt

Andina | Portland

William Miller

William Miller

Native American Youth and Family Center | Portland


We are always looking for passionate people to join our board and our board committees. For more information, or to indicate your interest, please visit this page. 

Farmer Advisory Committee

Our Farmer Advisory Committee (FAC) is the voice of Oregon's working lands. The FAC assists us in ensuring that Oregon maintains the land needed for future generations of farmers, foresters, and ranchers.