About Us

Bene sub navigation

Staff & Interns

For media and press inquiries, please contact Sean Carpenter at Sean@friends.org

Alexis Biddle Headshot

Alexis Biddle, Great Communities Program Director  & Staff Attorney

alexis@friends.org | (503) 694-3893

he/him/his

Andrew Mulkey, Rural Lands Attorney 

andrew@friends.org | (971) 420-0916

he/him/his

Ben Asher Photo

Ben Asher, Office Project Assistant 

ben@friends.org | 503.497.1000

he/him/his

Photo of Brett Morgan

Brett Morgan, Transportation and Metro Policy Manager

brett@friends.org | (503) 925-5361

he/him/his

Dan Lawler

Dan Lawler, Rural Lands Attorney

dan@friends.org | (971) 420-0922

he/him/his

Emily Mercer, Database & Information Manager

emily@friends.org | (971) 420-1292

she/her/hers

Greg Holmes, Food Systems Program Director & Southern Oregon Advocate

greg@friends.org | (503) 783-8086

he/him/his

Lauren Creany on a rock

Lauren Creany, Development Director

Lauren@friends.org | (503) 694-3560

she/her/hers

Lily standing

Lily Burnett, Interim Executive Director

lily@friends.org | (503) 694-3890

she/her/hers

Lou Ocampo, Executive Coordinator

Lou Ocampo, Operations Manager

lou@friends.org | (971) 420-0915

he/him/his

Mary Kyle McCurdy photo

Mary Kyle McCurdy, Deputy Director

mkm@friends.org | (971) 420-0915

she/her/hers

Nicole

Nicole Johnson, Community Engagement Manager

nicole@friends.org | (503) 776-6098

she/her/hers

Photo of Sandy Wright

Sandy Wright, Chief Philanthropy Officer

sandy@friends.org | 503.783.8093

she/her/hers

Sean

Sean Carpenter, Communications Director

sean@friends.org | (971) 420-0939

he/him/his

Zeke (a.k.a. Zeekers), Director of Office Shenanigans

zeke@friends.org | 503.497.1000

Board of Directors

Eloise Grout Koehler | President

Educator | Portland

Nellie McAdams in a barn

Nellie McAdams | Vice President

Oregon Agricultural Trust | Portland

Andrew Haden | Secretary/Treasurer

Wisewood Energy | Portland

Christine headshot

Christine Rontal | Chair,  Nominations & Governance Committee

Consultant | Portland | Pronouns: She/They

Issei Saida | Chair, Communications Committee

Craft3 | Portland

MJ Harris, Board Member

Margaret Jane (MJ) Harris | Chair, Fundraising Committee

Farmer | Cornelius

Greg Macpherson, Board Member

Greg Macpherson | Chair, Policy Committee

Conservation Leader | Portland

Carol Whipple

Carol Whipple

Senior Principal at the Rocking C Ranch, LLC | Elkton

Christian Richmond Photo

Christian Richmond 

Star Mooring Farm | Newberg

Jackie Dingfelder, Board Member

Jackie Dingfelder

Portland State University | Portland

Jim Wood Headshot

Jim Wood

Rancher & Veterinarian | Post

John Alcott Photo

John Allcott, MD

Applegate Medical Associates | Eugene

John Paul of Cameron Winery

John Paul

Cameron Winery | Dundee

Ken Hayes Photo

Ken Hayes

Farmer & Consultant | Gaston

Victor Platt

Victor Platt

Andina | Portland

William Miller

William Miller

Native American Youth and Family Center | Portland


We are always looking for passionate people to join our board and our board committees. For more information, or to indicate your interest, please contact Lou Ocampo, lou@friends.org.

Farmer Advisory Committee

Our Farmer Advisory Committee (FAC) is the voice of Oregon's working lands. The FAC assists us in ensuring that Oregon maintains the land needed for future generations of farmers, foresters, and ranchers.