About Us

Bene sub navigation

Meet the team!

Our Interns & Staff

Alexis Biddle Photo

Alexis Biddle, Urban Lands Advocate

alexis@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x413

Andrew Mulkey, Rural Lands Attorney

andrew@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x138

Ben Asher Photo

Ben Asher, Office Project Assistant

ben@friends.org | 503.497.1000

Photo of Brett Morgan

Brett Morgan, Metro Regional Advocacy Manager

brett@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x122

Emily Mercer, Database & Information Manager

emily@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x134

Greg Holmes, Food Systems Program Director & Southern Oregon Advocate

greg@friends.org | 541.474.1155

Jasmine Zimmer-Stucky, Working Lands Engagement Coordinator

jasmine@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x131

Kate Bemesderfer, Director of Membership

Kate Bemesderfer, Development Director

kate@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x133

Lily Burnett, Operations Manager & Board Liaison

Lily Burnett, Director of Operations

lily@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x129

Lou Ocampo, Executive Coordinator

Lou Ocampo, Executive Coordinator

lou@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x137

Mary Kyle McCurdy photo

Mary Kyle McCurdy, Deputy Director

mkm@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x130

Nicole

Nicole Johnson, Community Engagement Manager

nicole@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x 414

Avatar Placeholder

Robin Jennings, Administrative Assistant

robin@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x125

Russ Hoeflich, Executive Director

Russ Hoeflich, Executive Director

russ@friends.org | 503.720.6656

Photo of Sandy Wright

Sandy Wright, Chief Philanthropy Officer

sandy@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x126

Scott

Scott Hilgenberg, Rural Lands Legislative Attorney

scott@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x139

Sean Carpenter Headshot

Sean Carpenter, Communications & Media Relations Manager

sean@friends.org | 503.497.1000 x135

Zeke (a.k.a. Zeekers), Director of Office Shenanigans

zeke@friends.org | 503.497.1000

Our Board of Directors

Mike McCarthy, President

McCarthy Family Farms | Parkdale

Christian Richmond Photo

Christian Richmond, Vice President

Star Mooring Farm | Newberg

Andrew Haden, Secretary/Treasurer

Wisewood Energy | Portland

John Alcott Photo

John Allcott, MD

Applegate Medical Associates | Eugene

Lucy Brehm, Board Member

Lucy Brehm

Lewis & Clark Law School | Portland

Ed Clark Photo

Ed Clark

Radiologist (retired) | Portland

Jackie Dingfelder, Board Member

Jackie Dingfelder

Portland State University | Portland

Eloise Grout Koehler

Educator | Portland

Steve Gutmann

Forth & Stuffstr | Portland

MJ Harris, Board Member

Margaret Jane (MJ) Harris

Farmer | Cornelius

Ken Hayes Photo

Ken Hayes

Farmer & Consultant | Gaston

Jason Lett

The Eyrie Vineyards | McMinnville

Nolan Lienhart, Board Member

Nolan Lienhart

ZGF Architects | Portland

Elisabeth Lyon, Board Member

Elisabeth Lyon

Community Activist | Portland

Greg Macpherson, Board Member

Greg Macpherson

Conservation Leader | Portland

Maryellen McCulloch

Maryellen McCulloch

Yoga Cowgirls Lavender Farm | Portland

John Paul of Cameron Winery

John Paul

Cameron Winery | Dundee

Christine Rontal portrait

Christine Rontal 

Consultant | Portland

Issei Saida

Tomasi Salyer Martin | Portland

Jim Wood

Rancher & Veterinarian | Post


We are always looking for passionate people to join our board and our board committees. For more information, or to indicate your interest, please contact Lily Burnett, lily@friends.org.

Farmer Advisory Committee

Our Farmer Advisory Committee (FAC) is the voice of Oregon's working lands. The FAC assists us in ensuring that Oregon maintains the land needed for future generations of farmers, foresters, and ranchers.